Breaking News

Explorers holds 2nd annual day, presents books, cash prizes to students ~ Truth Reporters

The Explorers Innovative Initiative (EII), a class 2004 set of the Department of Physics (Geophysics option), Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma held their 2nd annual Explorers day on the 6th October 2021.

The event had amongst it's agenda presentation of Geophysics textbooks donated by EII to enhance the academic advancement of students and staffs of the departments 

Cash prizes were also presented to the best  students of Geophysics & Physics of 200 & 300 Level as well as graduating students.

A cash donation was also presented to the first female president of the department in her 36yrs of existence. Some of the awardees are Babatope Akinloluwa, Monehin Olabanji, Oyoko Ojorumi and Franca Lucky.

Speaking at the event, The President of the EII, Dr. Olotu Akpodiete urged the students to be hardworking, improve in their academic pursuit and uphold the integrity of the department and Institution. He also appreciated Prof. Omi Ujuanbi, who is the  National president of Ambrose Alli University, Alumni for the effective role he played during the success of 1st Explorers day held in 2019.

Professor Omi Ujuanbi in his speech, appreciated the president and his team for the noble feat achieved. He confirmed that this is the first time in 36yrs anybody or group of persons has engaged the department in this regard. He challenged others to do same for the academic advancement of the students and the institution in general. 

The Special Guest of Honour, Dean, Faculty of Physical Science, Prof. Cletus Abhulimen who was personally present at the occasion thanked the president and members of the initiative for giving back to their alma mata. He admonished lecturers to have empathy for their students and encouraged students to always be of good conduct, respect their lecturers and focus on their academic responsibilities.

Other keynote speakers were Dr. S. Ehika & Dr. Jegede who was also presented with a congratulatory award. 

The President of the initiative, Dr. Olotu Akpodiete, Amb. Felix Ugbesia pioneer president of the initiative as well as Prof. Omi Ujuanbi presented an award of excellence to the Dean, Prof. Cletus Abhulimen and Head of Department of Physics, Dr. S. Ehika.

Among others present at the event are Dr. R.O. Okanigbuan, Dr. O. E. Akhirevbulu, Dr. A. Iyoha, Mr. S. O. Salufu, Mrs. Odeh, Mr. E. Airewele and students of the Department.

No comments