Breaking News

Delta Constitutes 10-Man 2020 Flood Mgt Committee ~ Truth Reporters


By Oghenero Orovwuje

18 August 2020   |   3:03 pm

The Delta State Government has constituted a 10-man 2020 Flood Disaster Management Committee to handle the probable humanitarian challenges that might be triggered by incidents of flooding in the State as earlier predicted by the Nigeria Hydrological Services Agency's (NIHSA) 2020 Annual flood outlook for Delta State.

The Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mr Chiedu Ebie who also is the Chairman of the Committee stated at the inaugural meeting that the NIHSA 2020 Annual flood outlook for Delta State predicted that 18 LGA's would be affected by flood this year, adding that the prediction necessitated the setting up of the Committee to mitigate the effect of the flood on the citizens of the State.

While stating that the Government would adopt a different strategy in catering for displaced persons this year as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the SSG emphasized that attention would be more on sensitizing the people on the impending flood through advocacy.

As part of measures to conform with the COVID-19 Protcol, the Committee according to Mr Ebie has ruled out the setting up of regular camps.

He stressed that the committee's terms of reference would include to liase with Local Government Council Chairmen and identify vulnerable communities and places of relative safety in their localities where displaced persons could be sheltered; identify credible leadership structures in the vulnerable communities including traditional rulers and Presidents General through which government could mitigate the adverse effects of the flood.

Other members of the Committee include: Mr Omamofe Pirah, Commissioner Bureau for Special Duties, Co-Chairman, Mr Charles Aniagwu, Commissioner for Information, Mr Christian Onogba, Commissioner for Environment, Hon Itiako Ikpokpo, Chairman ALGON, Mr Eugene Uzum, Director General, State Orientation Bureau, Hon Benjamin Efekodo, Executive Assistant to the Governor (Special Duties), Mr Jerome Morka (mni) Senior Special Assistant to the Governor, Office of the SSG while Mr Benson Oburoh, Permanent Secretary, Bureau for Special Duties would serve as the Secretary of the Committee.

No comments